Wednesday, July 28, 2010

WWW Wednesday (July 28)

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins and Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl. I'm not a big fan of his but I saw the FMF movie in theaters and it was brilliant. My brother also got me the most gorgeous edition of this book, I'm quite proud of it. :D

What did you recently finish reading? Dear Pen Pal by Heather Vogel Frederick and The Case of the Gypsy's Goodbye (an Enola Holmes Mystery) by Nancy Springer.

What do you think you'll read next? Hmm difficult question, even when I try to plan this out it always goes horribly wrong and I end up reading something completely different so I'll just say undecided but I've got some awesome choices.

Friday, July 23, 2010

Top Ten Picks: Favorite Male Literary Character

Top Ten Picks is a meme hosted by Random Ramblings. Every week she picks a topic for us to pick our top ten favorites of. This weeks topic is Top Ten Literary Males. So here our my top ten in no particular order because I can't pick a favorite.

1. Tom Fitzgerald A.K.A The Great Brain
When I was little these we're my favorite books. The Great Brain series tells the story of Tom Fitzgerald a smart, money loving, and somewhat criminally minded young boy who loves to outsmart the kids and grown ups in his town. It is narrated by Tom's little brother John who is ever disapproving but always in awe of the things his brother gets away with. I always loved to read about all the cons Tom would pull and I must say I loved him to bits for it. Possibly because in my secret heart I had always wanted to do something similar. :P

2. Neville Longbottom

He is one of my favorite characters in HP because he is a truly brave loyal character. Even from the first book, when he tries to stop the "power of 3" from getting into trouble. I think what I like most about this character is, he does things that he is afraid of. He also has a very heartbreaking story. I'm not ashamed to say I cried during the 5th book, and it's just a testament to what a great character J.K. Rowling created. Also I'd like to thank the editor who accepted J.K's book because he told her to put more Neville in it. :) Also I loved him in the 7th book as well. He really grows as a character throughout the series from the "worst wizard" in the first book to a hero in the last.

3. Percy Jackson
This brave little hero capture my affections from the first book. He is absolutely fantastic. He is the typical boy, fun loving, hyper, and full of humor. His narrations are a joy to read, which was a pleasant surprise for me because I didn't think I would like this series so much. I think I like Percy so much because for some odd reason I always thought that is I had a little brother he would be like Percy. I know that sounds completely odd but that was how real he was too me. It definitely took me by surprise how attached I became to him, and again it's just another testament of great writing by Rick Riordan.

4. Christopher Chant A.K.A Chrestomanci
Well this one I picked more as a fun character than any specific deep reason for why I like him. Smart, and quirky Christopher is first introduced as the Chrestomanci in "Charmed Life" a very powerful magician who see's that magic remains in hand in all of the realms of the universe. If you chant is name 3 times he will come and help you out of any magical problem you have with his quick wit and clever use of magic. I like reading his character it's very imaginative and funny. I also like the crazy outfits Dianna Wynne Jones is always putting him in. :P

5. Twig
Twig is the first protagonist introduced in The highly imaginative and adventurous series The Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell. Raised by a family of woodtrolls Twig starts out as an impetuous, immature, angst ridden boy. You're wondering where the desirable qualities come in. I guess it's all in the character growth here. All alone wandering through the dangerous Deepwoods Twig learns a lot about himself and does plenty of growing up, as he tries to survive and find the people he belongs with. As the series progresses Twig turns into a brave and caring young man, although always impetious, and I like that about him.

6. Sherlock Holmes
The quintessential detective Sherlock Holmes was based off of Edgar Allen Poe's lesser known detective C. Auguste Dupin. Be that as it may Sherlock Holmes is a unique character in and of himself. Bringing cold clear logic to the table, Sherlock Holmes is still as popular today as he was when the stories were first published, and it's no mystery why. :P He is clever, full of justice, and very human. He is full of faults, as prone to addictions as the next person, and he is a confirmed bachelor. He has taken a million readers on a ton of adventures and will continue to do so for many years to come. I first read Sherlock Holmes because as a mystery fan I felt I could not call myself one unless I read SH. I wasn't sure I would like it.You can see how wrong I was. :)

7. Linus Van Pelt
Little Linus Van Pelt is Charlie Browns best friend. He is extremely smart, able to quote Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, and verses from the bible. He is very knowledgeable of human nature. Yet he constantly has to carry around his blankie, confuses Christmas and Halloween, and waits every year for the Great Pumpkin in the Pumpkin patch. Linus has always been my favorite peanuts character, and probably always will be. It's great to see the world through the eyes of such a smart yet innocent child.

8. Eustace Scrubbs
"There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it." and so is introduced one of my favorite characters in The Chronicles of Narnia series. At first an annoying boy who loves to make fun of his cousins Edmund and Lucy, Eustace is transported to Narnia with them, and goes on a great adventure that changes his life and character. I like a lot of character like this, and I think it's because they are so terrible at first, and they go through a lot of bad stuff because of their selfishness and stupid decisions. But they are so terrible that they cannot change, and learn their lesson. These types of characters in the end are loved not because they were always good but because they were bad, and became stronger characters because of how far they fall. In the end they are braver and more loyal to their cause because they have seen what the other side is like, and how it did not benefit them. Eustace's story is somewhat similar to Edmund's and they are both my favorite. But I like Eustace more although I couldn't quite tell you why. Also the two books he is in are my two favorite Narnia books the 2nd being The Silver Chair.

9. Encyclopedia Brown
Leroy "Encyclopedia" Brown is one of my favorite boy detectives. I started reading them when I was 11 and was simple crazy about them. I loved how clever Encyclopedia was and also how modest he was. He is always willing to help people with their problems but he's not loud or obnoxious about it. The mysteries he solves are not easy ones either. They are written in a figure it out yourself format, there are clues in the passages so that by the end of the story you should be able to figure out the solution. I rarely did though and usually went to the back of the book to read the solution. But it never took away from my enjoyment of the stories.

10. Mr. Knightley
Ah Mr. Knightley, possibly my favorite Austen hero. I absolutely came to love him while reading Emma. Wise and steadfast, Mr. Knightley has known Emma since she was a child. Her knows just how silly and impetuous she can be. He also knows that she has a good heart and he absolutely loves her flaws and all. I like that he can talk to her, and tell her where she's gone wrong, and even though it's criticism, it's loving and meant kindly, and only for her best. I also love how jealous he is of Frank Churchhill, that adds a great comical side to his character. :)

Well that's it for today. Again there not done in order of importance only in order of them popping into my head. :P Also I love all the Austen hero's but Knightley is my favorite. My 2nd is Henry Tilney. :) Most of my favorite characters are from MG novels as I haven't found any amazing YA hero's and I haven't read that many adult books yet. What are your favorite male literary characters?

Gimme A Call: A Book Review

Title: Gimme A Call

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

Genre: YA comedy

Reading Level: 13 and up

Devi's life isn't turning out at all like she wanted. She wasted the past three years going out with Bryan—cute, adorable, break-your-heart Bryan. Devi let her friendships fade, blew off studying, didn't join any clubs . . . and now that Bryan has broken up with her, she has nothing left.

Not even her stupid cell phone—she dropped it in the mall fountain. Now it only calls one number . . . hers. At age fourteen, three years ago!

Once Devi gets over the shock—and convinces her younger self that she isn't some wacko—she realizes that she's been given an awesome gift. She can tell herself all the right things to do . . . because she's already done all the wrong ones! Who better to take advice from than your future self?

Except . . .what if getting what you think you want changes everything?

Fans of Sarah Mlynowski's Magic in Manhattan series will love this hilarious new novel with a high-concept premise.

My Review: Having been a reader of Sarah's Magic in Manhattan series, I wanted to read this book, because I liked the premise and I really enjoyed reading the MIM series. I thought they we're really hilarious. This one promised to be in the same. It is interesting, but I think this stems more from the readers interest to see how the plot will be resolved. Devi makes some pretty crazy decisions, and they really mess around with her life. At first she's very reckless about what she tells her younger self to do, even though at first her only goal is to rid herself of the pain of breaking up with her boyfriend by telling younger Devi to not go out with him. She starts spreading out and messing with her friends and families life. The results are sometimes bad sometimes good, and it's fun to see what happens. But it wasn't particularly funny. It's easy to read so you can fly through it, but I think it probably would have been better if it were shorter, sometimes messing around with the future can get tedious after a while. The two Devi's although the same person are very different. Young Devi was much more enjoyable to read, she seemed less selfish and caring than her older self. Her older self really comes off as a control freak who is much younger than her age, and seems to care only about herself. But there's a lesson to be learned here of course, and that is the whole point of the book. The other characters we're not very interesting outside of being victims of the ever changing time line. So I guess it all comes to: interesting plot, yet more humor could have been added and it didn't need to be so long.
Content: Nothing too objectionable that I can remember, except some regular teenage gable about relationships.
Rating: 2 and a half stars out of 5
Recommend: For fans of cute YA novels

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Author Interview: Emma Michaels

This week, Emma Michael's, author of the soon to be released YA novel "The Thirteenth Chime" was kind enough to grant me an interview! I posted about her book last week. To find out more about her and her upcoming novel visit her at her blog! There are a lot of fun stuff there like a blog tour, and a counter to put on your blog to count down the days until her book is released. I'm so excited to share my interview with her with you! Enjoy!

Q)"How was the writing process for you, did the idea's come all at once or was the plot formed gradually?"

A) My initial idea came at once, but I did detailed research for almost two years before I was satisfied. Once I began to actually write the book, it flowed right away and I was very happy with it.

Q)"What do you find inspired you the most while writing? (Music, Nature etc.)"

A) Music and nature inspired me equally. Whenever I write emotional scenes, I like to have music on in order to get in the right mood. But on the island where I live, nature is all around me. Birds, deer, even the daily pudgy raccoon rambles by my window during the day and inspires me.

Q)"How did you come up with characters? Did you take any aspects from people you know? Is there any characteristics of yourself in your characters? Or did they just spring up into your imagination and take up a life of their own?"

A) When I write a story, I make a point of allowing the story to develop on its own. With the characters, I try not to base them off of anyone. I write about them and then place them in a situation. It is up to each of them how they react to that situation and their personalities develop just as the story and my own writing develops. But I would say that if any character had some similar characteristics to myself, it would be Stephanie. Her lighthearted quips and desire to make peace between David and Destiny is very much how I like to be with dear friends in my life.

Q)"What's your favorite Genre? Do you think it reflects in your writing or is your style completely different?"

A) YA is my favorite general. I love it and it is my hope that even if I branch out that I will continue to write YA. It definitely reflects in my writing and the style I use.

Q)"How did you come up with names for your characters? Do you think they reflect their personality in any way, or did you just choose names you liked?"

A) David was named for several very important reasons within the book, some of which will only be revealed later. In Destiny's case, she was without a name until my fiance one day made a comment about how she seemed "to just be David's destiny". It was in that moment that I knew what her name would be.

Q)"It say's that this is the 1st book in the "A Sense of Truth" series. Do you have idea's for the next installment, and if so have you started writing them down yet?"

A) I can't give away too much yet, but I do have some great ideas that if potential fans want to read more, I promise that they will be definitely getting more!

Q)"In your book is seems that you explore relationships and deep feelings such as the unnamed mans desire for revenge and intense hatred, and the relationship of Destiny and David. Are there any messages, morals, or thoughts you'd like your readers to come away with?"

A) I feel that with any kind of message or moral, even if there is an intent to it, you can read it one day and get one message but then go back another day, reread it, and get another message that suits something completely different in your life. There are many relationships and bonds in each of our lives. Some are healthy, and some are not. Some are meant to be, and some should not. If there is one individual moral within the story, it is that two people, no matter what their history, can develop a bond so important to each other that even if they are no longer together, that bond is just as important and special as it was the first day it was born. For David and Destiny, it is this realization and their finding strength within their bond that will be their only defense against the nightmarish trap that awaits them.

Q)"After completely "The Thirteenth Chime" what sort of advice would you give to aspiring writers?"

A) Beginning my first book was a daunting task. I know that for some it is difficult to get started, or easy to start but difficult to continue, or nearly impossible to finish 'the right way'. Just write. Throw it all out of your mind - don't think - just write. Use your initial story idea to be a guide but not an overseer. Then, when it is time to do your queries, just remember that a query is a major annoyance to write, but it is something very important that will give your book a voice to be heard by others. Some won't listen to that voice and may shoot you down (in my case the 'some' was over a hundred), but keep sending that voice out to be heard because one day it WILL be heard. Never give up! Thank you so much for the interview and to everyone reading! I hope you all will love The Thirteenth Chime!

Interested? I am. :) Thanks again so much Emma Michaels for your time!

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Death in the Clouds: A Book Review

Title: Death in the Clouds

Author: Agatha Christie

Genre: Mystery

Reading Level: 13 and up

After spending a bit of a holiday in Paris, Poirot finds himself on a flight to London with an odd assortment of people. When one of the passengers, Madame Gisele, is murdered during the flight by a poisoned dart, Poirot is asked by Inspector Japp of Scotland Yard to assist with the investigation. Gisele was a well-known moneylender with penchant towards blackmail. Wading through the clues and red herrings, involving a secret daughter, and secret lovers, Poirot uses his keen intellect and logic to unmask the killer amidst the innocent.

My Review: Well I read this particular novel for a silly reason. It was featured in the first Doctor Who episode I ever saw, and also the cover used was the one I have pictured here. I think. Anyway, reading this was a lot of fun. I forgot how much I enjoyed mysteries. I am crazy about them. Even a semi-good Agatha Christie mystery is fun too read. This one wasn't one of her best although the murder was intriguing. Someone's murdered on a plane mid flight, supposedly by a blow pipe and no one saw who did it? I was really interested in finding how this would turn out. Hercule Poirot one of Christie's most famous detective's leads us on a fun little romp in this mystery. He is hilarious. I absolutely love him. A little Belgian man with a mustache running around popping up all over the place confusing the suspects and in the end making them spill the beans to him, Poirot is pure genius. Speaking of the side characters there were a lot of interesting ones here. The maid of Madame Giselle was a good character that was only in the story for a short while but added a lot of depth and of course divulged some clues as well. I enjoyed the scheming Lady Horbury, and there is a romantic couple as well Norman Gale and Jane Grey. I also had fun reading about Mr. Clancy a particularly eccentric mystery writer who comes up with overly fantastic plots and roams the street muttering plot lines to himself. I can only hope to be like that someday. :P This novel is flippy and nonchalant in the same vein as The Secret Adversary was, the end was actually not very shocking, but the ride was tons of fun.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Musing Mondays (July 12)

Musing Mondays is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Every week a new question is asked. This weeks question: Can you read amidst distractions? (tv, others talking, sporting events, etc)
This is an Excellent question! My answer would have to be most of the time, no I cannot read when people are talking, watching tv or music is being played. I've never been to a sporting event but I probably couldn't read there either, and not because I enjoy sports. I really prefer not to have noise when I'm reading unless it's classical music, or just music without anyone singing. It adds a bit to my imagination, but voices etc. really harsh my mood and get into my head even when I really just want to read. On very rare occasions I've been able to block out noise but this happens once in a blue moon and no matter how hard I try I can't keep it for long. *sigh*

Friday, July 9, 2010

The Thirteenth Chime By Emma Micheals!!!!

Last week Emma Micheals a soon to be YA author contacted me to let me know of her soon to be published book "The Thirteenth Chime". Below I have pasted the summary and the incredibly intriguing and creepy cover. As a girl who hopes to someday be a published author as well, I am very happy for Emma Micheals and hope you will all head over to her blog to read all the up and coming news (including a giveaway) about her book. I must say I am already looking forward to it's release, I love the summary it sounds super interesting. I'm also a sucker for anything having to do with clocks, particularly fancy ones. :)


No one knew of its existence until it was removed from the attic upstairs.

In a beautiful house that overlooks the sea, an antique clock has the power to change the course of their lives.

The power the clock resonates will not only force Destiny and ex-boyfriend David on a journey into the depths of one man's mind long dead, but into the mind of a man filled with hatred and bent on revenge.

With the only clues to the nature of the clock having disappeared into the sea, Destiny and David must retrace the steps the man had taken into the darkness, before they fall prey to the trap he had set in motion over half a century ago.

Hatred never dies.

Genre: Young Adult (Paranormal/ Urban Fantasy)
Available soon in all digital formats and print
for more imformation or to submit your blog for a chance to review The Thirteenth Chime e-mail
Also take a look at this really cool book trailer! I love the creepy music box music at the end!

Book Blogger Hop: July 9-12, 2010

It's another Friday, and that means another book blogger hop hosted by Crazy-For-Books! The Book blogger hop is a great way for book bloggers to meet and explore the blogs of other book bloggers and be encouraging and just have a really great time! So go ahead click on the link and join all the fun!
Also Jennifer of Crazy-For-Books has added a twist, where she asks a new question every week for book bloggers to answer. This weeks question: Tell us about some of your favorite authors and why they are your favorites!
Kirsten Miller who wrote the Kiki Strike series is one of my favorite authors. I enjoy her books because she can take old and used idea's and make them seem fresh and interesting again. She has an imaginative way of writing, her voice is unique and witty and I'm still waiting desperately for the 3rd Kiki Strike book to come out.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

WWW Wednesdays (July 7)

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Anyone can join! To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

"Wives and Daughter" by Elizabeth Gaskell, "Death in the Cloud" by Agatha Christie and "A Tale of Time City" by Dianna Wynne Jones.

What did you recently finish reading?

"Wesley the Owl" by Stacey O'Brien and you can see my review of it below this post. :D

What do you think you'll read next?

I want to get about finishing "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Bronte and "Pickwick Papers" by Charles Dickens. I also want to read (and I probably mentioned it before in a previous 3W post) "Daniel Deronda" by George Eliot.

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Wesley the Owl: A Book Review

Title: Wesley the Owl

Author: Stacey O'Brien

Genre: Memoir/Non-fiction

Reading Level: 15 and up

This is the heartwarming story of a young biologist who takes in a little injured baby owl one Valentines day. Set with the task of watching him for the rest of his life, Stacey relates the story of their time together. Of the hardships and adjustments, the joy and triumph and the strong unbreakable bond they both shared.

My Review:
Who can resist a book cover with an adorable baby owl on it? I sure can't. I saw this in a bookstore, and I have always fond owl's to be terribly interesting, so I instantly wanted to read it. I knew it would make me cry, but I felt it would be worth it. It was. A beautiful, touching story, and I instantly fell in love with Wesley the owl through Stacey warm, sincere memoir and you really get to see how amazing these creatures are. Little Wesley is full of personality and his antics will make you laugh, or at least put a smile of your face. The book was informative, as well as humorous and of course I shed tears, practically within the first page. But there was more laughter then tears though, so animal lovers this is a pretty safe read. It won't traumatize you. :) Stacey really gives you an in depth look at a one of a kind relationship, and the things you will learn about animal and human interaction will really make you think. The bounds and understanding that can be formed between these two different life forms is really amazing and special. As far as writing goes, I think Stacey did a fabulous job, the word galumphing was overused but this is a tiny mistake in an otherwise well written memoir.
Content: There is some cursing, in depth information about all a biologist has to do and will do in his work might freak some people out.
Rating: 4 stars out of 5
Recommend: To owl lovers and animal lovers in general and people who enjoy memoirs.

Teaser Tuesday

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
"Shortly after this the even tenor of their life in the space-ship began to be disturbed. Weston explained that they would soon begin to feel the gravitational pull of Malacandra."
--Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis

Monday, July 5, 2010

Musing Mondays (July 5)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
This weeks question: What are you currently reading? Would you recommend it to others? Is it part of a series (if so, which one)? What are you thinking about it? What book(s) would you compare it to, if any?

I'm currently reading Wesley the Owl by Stacey O'Brien. It's a memoir about a scientist who takes in a wounded baby owl. It's a stand alone book, and I would recommend it to people who enjoy animal stories, and love owl's sentimentally or from a scientific approach. Right now I am enjoying it, it is very interesting, and humorous, and sometimes sad, as you begin to realize how emotional, and vulnerable animals are and how much we affect their lives. I'm not sure what books I'd compare it too because I haven't read any other memoir but I'd probably say it's pretty safe to compare it to books like Dewey by Vicki Myron or Marley and Me by John Grogan. I base this on the fact they're all memoirs involving animals. :)

Sunday, July 4, 2010

A Bunch of Words

Wordle: LSBL

I found this site on Katherine's main blog Observations on Becoming. Check it out, it's a lot of fun.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Top Ten Picks: Favorite Reads This Year (so far)

Top Ten Picks is a weekly meme hosted by Jillian over at Random Ramblings. It's lot's of fun, and this weeks question is: What are your favorite reads so far this year. Thanks to my goodreads list I think I can answer this. :)

Okay in the number one slot:
1. The Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery
I've read Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, and Anne of Windy Poplar so far this year. I adore every single one of them to pieces. I am now reading Anne's House of Dreams and hope to continue to the end of the series.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan
I read an abridged version of the Odyssey when I was around 12 years old and really enjoyed it. But in the Sea of Monsters Rick Riordan updates it with his usual brand of humor, and imagination and I loved it! I also learned some new interesting facts like the fact that cyclops's were the sons of Poseidon and a Nereid.

3. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Jane Austen pokes fun at gothic novels. What's not to love? I read this light fluffy comedy in one day, and really enjoyed it. All of her jabs at usual gothic novels we're so funny especially during the 1st chapter, here's one particular part I found especially funny: "Her father was a clergymen, without being neglected, or poor, and a very respectable man, though his name was Richard-and he had never been handsome. He had considerable independence, besides two good livings-and he was not in the least addicted to locking up his daughters."

Gilda Joyce: The Dead Drop by Jennifer Allison
I have been loving this young psychic mysteries series for a while now. So much so I actually got this in hardcover when it came out. It is one of the best in the series next to The Ladies of the Lake and the mysteries are starting to get more complex. Also now I want to go visit the spy museum in Washington.

5. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I saw the 2005 movie when it came out on DVD, before I knew it was a books series. I thought it was bizarre but brilliant. Then I found out it was a book series and have always wanted to read it. I only got around to it this year. The book is only a little bit different from the movie, (which I guess means they did a good job) and is just as bizarre and brilliant. Also my reading this book started a discussion on 42 in my family for about 2 weeks.

6. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie
Agatha Christie's 2nd novel, is very fun. It's not too intense, but it's also not to light so that you aren't interested. The main characters are what really interest you though. Tommy and Tuppence are another one of my favorite literary couples. :)

7. The Case of the Left Handed Lady by Nancy Springer
This is the 2nd book in the Enola Holmes series. It's also the last one I read. I don't know why though. I absolutely loved it. It was a very smart, and sometimes frightening mystery. It tells the story of Sherlock Holmes much younger sister, and her fight for her freedom and the things she does to help people in need.

8. The Crime at Black Dudley
Margery Allingham's firs novel featuring her soon to be famous amateur sleuth Albert Campion. No wonder because he stole the show from the 1st main character Dr. Abbershaw. This was a nice English manor thriller that I had a lot of fun reading, and I hope to read more in the series later on this year.

9. Heist Society by Ally Carter
In this her first YA none Gallagher Girl book Ally has started (hopefully) another fun series about a teenage thief and her companions who try to clear their fathers name of a crime he didn't commit. At least not this time. It's very fun, very Oceans Eleven for tweens and teens.

10. My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison
This novel was very cute, and imaginative. It was one of the better fairy tale oriented YA novels I have read. Ever. The main character was cute, there were some nice playful twists and the fairy godmother was hilarious, the the situations she got the main character into were very funny. I laughed out loud on more then one occasion.

Book Blogger Hop: July 2-5, 2010

It's time for another Book blogger hop! The Book blogger hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy-For-Books and it's really expanding! She's even added a new twist for people to get to know one another. She will ask a question every week for you to answer on your book blogger hop post. The question this week is: "Tell us your NAME and WHY YOU STARTED BLOGGING?"
My name is Lady Scribbles, I don't post my real name up. Why, I dunno I just like being mysterious! :P Anyway I used to have a regular ever day blog until I decided my life wasn't interesting enough for that and I really didn't enjoy it. But one of my friends Katherine over at A Love for Literature
inspired me (quite unintentionally, because I've never told her :P) with the idea of creating a blog for books. I have always loved books and I knew it would be something I could really get into. I started out with just reviews, and little short posts about all the books I would buy but thanks to blog hopping I have found other amazing book bloggers who come up with fun and imaginative meme's and book challenges that really make book blogging more fun than it already is. I hope you enjoy stopping by my blog, and don't forget to comment and leave a link to your blog so I can come over too. :)

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Character Connection (1)

Character Connection is a lovely weekly meme hosted by IntrovertedJen over at The Introverted Reader.

"We all have characters we love. Let's spotlight these fantastic creations! Whether you want to be friends with them or you have a full-blown crush on them, you know you love them and want everyone else to love them too!

Most of you will probably post about how much you love each character, but this is a great place for the more creative ones among you to let go and have fun! Write a love letter to Captain Wentworth. Write yourself into a scene with Anne and Diana. Draw a picture of yourself in Jamie's arms. The possibilities are endless.

Be sure to post the book's title and author, and be very careful not to give away spoilers while talking about how much you love your characters."

Alright for my first Character connection I pick the first Jane Austen character I related with: Emma Woodhouse!! I absolutely loved Emma from the 1st moment I started reading the book. She is such a lovely character, funny, caring, imaginative, and she makes tons of mistakes. She is a bit silly and doesn't know her own mind. She needs to be told off every once in a while, which always comes from the loving mouth of Mr. Knightley and her good friend Mrs. Weston. But those are only things that made me like her more, because it made her feel real, like she was a friend. Emma is my favorite Jane Austen novel, and also one of my favorite Jane Austen characters ever.
I know this is a late post, but better late then never I always say...a little too much. :) I hope to do more Character Connection posts in the future.